Board of Trustees

Burroughs is governed by a board of trustees which manages the school’s finances and facilities, oversees the policies and general direction of the school and identifies areas for consideration and possible action.

The John Burroughs School Board of Trustees consists of current parents and alumni. The presidents of the Parents Council and Alumni Association, as well as the chair of the Investment Committee, automatically serve as ex officio members.

The Board's main duties are to protect the overall mission and philosophy of the school, to support the head of school to implement this mission, to ensure the long-term financial stability of the school and to set the policies within which it functions.

Trustees meet as a whole six times a year. During those meetings, the trustees are briefed on the status of key school issues — from the school budget to the outlook for admission to the status of college applications. They are kept abreast of student and faculty developments, achievements and concerns. Faculty presentations, drawing from all aspects of school life, are a common agenda item.

The Board uses a committee structure. Subject to full Board approval, the Board president and head of school assign all trustees to a minimum of two committees and propose an agenda for each committee. Some committees invite non-board members, including faculty, to serve.  Current committees are Development, Diversity & Education, Executive, Finance, Building & Grounds, Investment, and Tuition Aid.

One of the distinguishing strengths of Burroughs is that many of the trustees have children enrolled in the school. Through day-to-day contact with their children and their children's friends and regular exchanges with faculty members, they have an excellent means for hearing the concerns of the students and faculty, which help guide their deliberations and actions on behalf of the school.

2023-24 Board of Trustees

Back row (from left): Ted Samuels '73, Mark Schnuck '74, Annie Beattie '94, Barry Albrecht '96, John Kemper '96, Andy Abbott (Head of School), Geoff Ratliff '95, John Inazu, Sabrine Rhodes, and Steven Busch '95.

Front row (from left): Sheyda Namazie-Kummer, Tiya Lim '94, Kerrigan Kaplan (Board President), Carol Putzel Lister '85, Julie Mitchell Baur '90, Lee Broughton, Eriko Pope, and Jessica del Pilar (ex officio).

Not pictured: Haliday Douglas '01, Bobby Dunn '94, David Lemkemeier '88, Terry Riley Patton '77, Alison Todorovich Sheehan '90, and Stephanie Park Zwicker '94 (ex officio).

 2023-2024 Board of Trustees

President Kerrigan Kaplan
Immediate Past President Mark Schnuck '74
1st Vice President Carol Lister '85

2nd Vice President

Ted Samuels '73
Treasurer Steven Busch '95
Secretary Eriko Pope
Barry Albrecht '96 Julie Baur '90
Annie Beattie '94 Lee Broughton
Haliday Douglas '01 Bobby Dunn '94
John Inazu John Kemper '96
David Lemkemeier '88 Tiya Lim '94
Sheyda Namazi-Kummer Terry Riley Patton '77
Geoff Ratliff '95 Sabrine Rhodes
Alison Sheehan '90  
Anthony Pope, ex officio
Stephanie Park Zwicker '94, ex officio
Jessica del Pilar, ex officio