"Into the Woods"

"Into the Woods"

On February 23, 24, and 25, upper-school students staged a production of Into the Woods, a musical that weaves together classic fairy tales with unexpected twists.

A number of students performed in the cast of Into the Woods — as listed in the program: Hana Banga '24, Charlotte Kaye '26, Iris Sommer '26, Finn Hohenberg '27, Ella Deutsch '25, Sylvia Andrews '27, Davin Rich '24, Sarah Brown '25, Aria Langley '27, Cate Kiley '26, Victoria Capece Coelho de Souza '25, Josiah Harrison '27, Miko Kim '25, Molly Magarian '25, Julia Burr '27, Owen Front '25, Addison Stisser '26, Daisy Lazaroff '27, Will Tao '26, Ricco Martin '27, Gavin Daengsurisri '25, Kate Grady '24, and Mara Kniep '26.

The show was directed by Drew Battles (Performing Arts, with choreography by Taylor Pietz (Performing Arts) and music direction by Ms. Pietz and Jerry Estes (Performing; Estes also conducted the pit orchestra. The set was designed by Joe Novak, costumes were designed by Carla Landis Evans, and lighting was designed by Summer Levin '24.

Thanks to production stage manager Jayla Pruitt '26; assistant stage managers Theo Wolfgram '25 and Jansen Dents '26; audio engineer June Kim '24; assistant audio engineer Chloe Berglund '27; props manager Erin Knadler; light operator Maddie Williams '26; and crew members Chloe Berglund '27, Emily Bernstein '26, Sarah Brown '25, Gabi Buckels '24, Sid Council '25, Gavin Daengsurisri '25, Audrey Gray '25, Dalton Harrold '25, Cate Kiley '26, Miko Kim '25, Mara Kniep '26, Molly Kreitman '26, Clare Lattanand '28, Elsa Lattanand '25, Summer Levin '24, Charlotte Novak '29, Elijah Riker '27, Naomi Sherman '25, Mitchell Smith '26, Riva Stern '25, Adi Veeramachaneni '27, Sabie Witt '26, and John Zarek '24.

The orchestra featured Joe Neske, Noah Clark '26, Emily Bowman, Shulynn Ragland '27, Chris Banks, Hudson Freiman '26, Noah Lipe '27, Anita Hagerman (Performing Arts), Paula Bernhardt, Kelly Austermann, Bob Carter (retiree), Mary Weber, Peter Ulffers, and Tim Baker (Performing Arts).

Thanks also to Nick Bible, Doug Chapis, STAGES St. Louis, Danny MacLaughling, Audrey Novak, and The Producers, a Parents Council committee dedicated to supporting performing arts. 

Music and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim, book by James Lapine.