Newman Prize Winner: Wilson Von Rohr '24

Newman Prize Winner: Wilson Von Rohr '24

Congratulations to Wilson Von Rohr '24, the latest recipient of the Newman Prize.

Established in 1992 by Mark Vittert '65, the Newman Prize gives rising seniors a unique opportunity to meet with a famous American of their choice. To be considered, students submitted a brief application listing the five living Americans they'd like to meet and were interviewed by a small panel of alums, including Andy Newman '62 (Eric's son) and Lisa Greenman Kraner '71.

After his name was announced during assembly on Monday, April 10, Wilson spoke briefly about how he's discovered a passion for film and filmmaking during his time at Burroughs, making his choices for the Newman Prize quite fitting.

Wilson Von Rohr's Choices

  • Gail McGovern, president/CEO of the American Red Cross
  • Joel Coen, an American filmmaker and part of the directing duo known as the Coen Brothers
  • Brian Robbins, president/CEO of Paramount Pictures and Nickelodeon
  • Quentin Tarantino, an American filmmaker
  • James Gunn, an American filmmaker (and St. Louis native)

Other popular choices from the Class of 2024 included comedian Trevor Noah, former First Lady Michelle Obama, Youtube star and philanthropist MrBeast, and entrepreneur (and JBS alum) Sam Altman '03.